Born in West Germany to Macedonian parents and raised in the Northern Greek prefecture of Edessa, Dine Doneff (or Kostas Theodorou, his Greek citizenship name) has been active as a musician and composer since the mid-eighties.
Faced with the choice between school and music, he left his home village and fled to Thessaloniki. Educated his inner soul by exploring life through music, he became a self taught musician.

By the 90’s he was working as an arranger, ensemble director and producer on studio recordings. Alternating between touring abroad, he joined the group Savina Yannatou & Primavera en Salonico in 2001, with four albums released by ECM; from 2002 to 2005 he taught at the Technical Education Institute of Epirus and the University of Macedonia. Later, under the fictional auspices of ‘no bizz productions’, he became the pivot, and inspiration, of “ninety nine (99)”, improvised public rehearsal performances in a small underground theatre in Thessaloniki from 2005 to 2011 involving onstage encounters between Doneff and musicians, dancers, actors, poets and visual artists. Interludes of composing for the theatre and silver screen interspersed with forays into theatre direction and, under the name of Tome Rapovina, directing and editing short films. From 2014 to 2016, he worked as a composer and actor with the Kammerpiele in Munich and the Thalia Theater in Hamburg and from 2014 he has been living in Munich.

As a result of his appearance as an ECM artist, Dine Doneff together with painter & photographer Fotini Potamia, proceeds to building up the label “neRED music” following a suggestion of Manfred Eicher, ECM’s founder and producer. The label’s first release is the album “Rousilvo”, which will be marketed in cooperation with ECM Records.

                    Collaborations with (among others):   
        Danny Hayes, Frank Köllges, Michalis Siganidis, Ara Dinkjan, 
    Arto Tunçboyaciyan, Petro Lukas Chalkias, Luis Sclavis, Michel Godard, 
   Sainkho Namtchylak, Theodosii Spassov, Takis Farazis, Argiris Bakirtzis, 
        Ziad Rajab, Floros Floridis, Haig Yazdjian, Yannis Thomas, 
                Christian Reiner, Anja Lechner, Natalia Mann...  
Selective discography:
Nostos, 1999 Lyra 667 
Echotopia, 2003 FM 1578 
Sumiglia, 2005 ECM 1903 
Songs of an other, 2008 ECM 2057 
Songs of Thessaloniki, 2015 ECM 2398
Rousilvo, 2017 neRED music w/ECM records    

                                                   text: Jonathan Smith